Customer reviews for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs

Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs

The clean team you trust. TRY CASCADE ACTIONPACS™, GEL, AND POWDER WITH THE GREASE FIGHTING POWER OF DAWN®. Cascade ActionPacs with the Grease Fighting Power of Dawn clean a fully loaded dishwasher the first time around. Cascade Gel and Powder with the Grease Fighting Power of Dawn can be trusted to deliver clean, shiny dishes.
Overall rating:
2.89 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(766 reviews) 766
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 766 reviews
5 Stars
307
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
32
2 Stars
57
1 Star
337
355 of 76446%of customers recommend this.
Sort Reviews: Customer reviews for Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Review 201 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Law

Customer avatarReviewed by:Teal
,Gainesville, Fl
Date:September 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have been washing my dishes by hand for over a year now due to my dishwasher that stopped cleaning dishes. I went from perfectly clean dishes to the most horrible white film that required handscrubbing to clean. I have always used Cascasde and I figured something broke on the dishwasher but now I find out Cascade was reformulated to contain no phosphates. This is the dumbest idea ever. I have tripled my water usage and spent 3 hours of my valuable time every week handwashing dishes.
I have ordered Sodium Tripolyphosphate and use the cheapest dish detergent available and dishes come out perfect every time.
You have lost a customer and I am spreading the word about the lack of phosphates in detergents (works great on clothes too). Europe tried this a few years ago I understand- trying to be "Green" and switched back to the phosphates after outrage by the consumers. Very disappointed with Cascade and the other detergent manufacturers who followed the whims of 16 states outlawing phosphates and applying it to all 50 states."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareSeptember 8, 2011
The film you are reporting may be caused by the combination of hard water and the newly reformulated phosphate free Cascade. As you know starting in 2010 new state and local legislations require that all automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. So we removed phosphates to comply.

Here's how to remove film from your dishes:

1.Fill both detergent cups with white vinegar and run one wash cycle without adding detergent.
2.REMOVE ALL METAL ITEMS from the dishwasher first and wash them by hand. (Vinegar is too acidic for metal items, but is safe for stainless steel dishwasher interiors.) Then run the glasses/dishes through an entire cycle with no detergent.
3.Run through another cycle, using Cascade to remove any vinegar residue.

Tips to prevent this in the future:

*Add a rinse aid like Cascade Crystal Clear.
*Water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at kitchen sink before starting the cycle.
*To prevent low water pressure, run dishwasher when no other water is being used (showers, grass watering, washing machine)

I hope these tips will help.
Review 202 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse I have ever used.

Customer avatarReviewed by:Jennie
,Delhi, CA
Date:September 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"The Cascade with Dawn does not clean. I ran dishwasher twice and still did not get dishes clean. The liquid is runny even after shaking. It is hard to pore. The minute you tip the container it shoots out all over the place. I thought it was a bad batch. Took it back to the store, exchanged. Still the same."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareSeptember 6, 2011
I am sorry to hear the product is runny. Sometimes this can be a sign the product has come into contact with some bad storage conditions before it made it into your home. We would like to get some information off of the bottle so we can help. Please give us a call at (800) 765-5516.
Review 203 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Date:August 31, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have been a faithful Cascade user for over 35 years and recently I have noticed that the dishes and glasses have not been clean and there is a film on them. I just pulled a glass out that still had a lipstick mark on it - that NEVER used to happen. What can I do to get the dishes and glasses clean again??"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareSeptember 6, 2011
I am sorry to hear you are not getting the cleaning you expect from Cascade. We would like to get some information off of the package so we can help you with this and get it reported. Please give us a call at (800) 765-5516.
Review 204 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:Jean
,Crestwood, KY
Date:August 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I recently purchased a large quantity of Cascade ExtraAction at a local Sam's Club. I have used other Cascade products in the past and they have all worked very well. I am though having a difficult time with this particular detergent and my glasses. My glasses have to be washed again once removed from the dishwasher. They seem to still have a residue still remaining on them, which is very frustrating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 205 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:jkate
,NE MO
Date:August 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have never been glad to run out of anything -until now. Those little ActionPacs discolored my favorite alumiun cake pan and lid- they look awful. In my opinion they are ruined. There is also a white residue on some of my Pyrex bakeware. I have decided to give the gel a chance-I would hate to have to change brands after 30 years of using your product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 25, 2011
I'm sorry your finish on your favorite aluminum cake pan are discolored. One benefit of Phosphates in dishwashing is its ability to help protect the surface of metals. With the removal of phosphates, discoloration on aluminum may now occur faster than before. It can be as fast as 1 wash when before it was over a longer period of time.

While it is difficult, it is possible to remove darkening. Try these steps:


1.Use a good aluminum (metal) polish on the pan.
2.Then boil a cream of tartar solution (2-3 tablespoons cream of tartar to1 quart water) in the pan for 15 minutes.
3.Finally, scrub with a soap pad.

If you have additional questions please call us at the number on the package.
Review 206 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worse product ever

Customer avatarReviewed by:ag pat
,Central Coast, Calif
Date:August 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I opened my dishwasher earlier today and I am so angry. Since using Cascade Shine Shield Formula, my dishes come out looking worse with each washing. Lipstick stains not removed and a film that was not on the glasses when they went in. I went to 3 different stores looking for the old cascade complete or original and the only thing on the shelves was this . Retuning my money would not be enough. I would be satisfied with nothing less than replacing my glass ware which seems to be ruined. Where are your test labs and how did this product get to market. In the past I refused to use nothing but cascade. What Happened??"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 24, 2011
This does not sound like the cleaning power of Cascade. We would like to get some additional information from you. We stand behind our product 100% and are here to help you. Please give us a call at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 207 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not very happy

Customer avatarReviewed by:momo of 3
,pinells park,florida
Date:August 20, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I recently purchased the New Zealand spring scented tablets. The first wash the dishes were perfect, after that they now have a white filmy mess on them. Idon't like to hand wash my dishes, that is why i have a dishwasher. Probably won't buy Cascade again.
Not very happy, I never had a prblem with Cascade before. Stick to what you know and don't change things that work already.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 24, 2011
We certainly want you to be happy with the whole package. It is unusual that with the first ActionPac used the dishes were perfect. We would like to get some additional information from you to determine what caused the white film. Please give us a call at your convenience at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 208 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cascade With Dawn

Customer avatarReviewed by:Kat9
,Middleton, WI
Date:August 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"I hope someone will answer my questions:
#1. Where is the "new" Cascade being made?
My old box said it was made in the USA. The new box says nothing... only where it is distributed.
Question #2: Is Cascade Complete which is listed on this site still available? If so, I will look for a store that stocks it.
I am surprised to see all these negative reviews. I have used the new product a couple of times and not noticed any problems. We have a water softener due to hard water so maybe I will avoid the dishware problems others are having. Note: I ALWAYS had problems with Cascade making my glassware cloudy even before the product formula change. I support the formula change to protect our water. The summer of 2011 is showing us we cannot take plentiful good water for granted.
While Cascade continues to clean my dishes and leave them shiny, it always made my glasses "cloudy". So I hand wash all "company" glasses and we drink out of cups/mugs that go in the dishwasher. I never in the past put aluminum items in my dishwasher...only stainless steel. Even boiling pasta in water darkens aluminum pots. It never occurred to me to blame darkened aluminum on a dish detergent.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 209 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cascade with dawn action pacs

Customer avatarReviewed by:erin
,Mansfield,OH
Date:August 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I just started using these tablets. Ran 3 loads of dishes and then had to hand wash all of my dishes. White powdery film left on all dishes. What a waste of money and my time."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer Care August 16, 2011
Hate to hear you're getting a white powdery film on your dishes. Sometimes this can happen if not using enough detergent in hard water areas which can cause hard water minerals and soils to settle back on the dishes, causing an unsightly film. You may also want to use Cascade Rinse Aid, which allows soils to be more easily loosened and rinsed away. And finally, water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at kitchen sink before starting the cycle. To prevent low water pressure, run dishwasher when no other water is being used (showers, grass watering, washing machine). Make sure no items block the dishwasher sprayer arms so that enough water reaches all the dishes. Hope this information is helpful.
Review 210 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:trickyricky
,Florida
Date:August 10, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Your cascade gel-pacs are not dissolving in my dishwasher. I am finding them in the bottom of my dishwaser after the dishwasher is finished. The blue gue is in the bottom of my dishwasher.
Thought you would want to know!!!!!!!!
Rick"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer Care August 15, 2011
This is very unusual and not what we would expect. The Cascade ActionPacs wrappers are actually made of a highly soluble material, just like translucent pill wrappers.

To prevent this:
-Clean away any loose plastic from plates before adding to the dishwasher
-Make sure no items are blocking the dishwasher sprayer arms.
-Low water pressure. Be sure no other water is being used - like showers, grass watering, laundry machine.
-Low water temperature. Shouldn't be below 120 degrees F, so before starting the cycle run hot water in the kitchen sink.
-Store in a cool, dry place and use within a few months of purchase.
-Don't store under the sink, especially if it is near the dishwasher.

I hope this helps!
Review 211 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Action pacs ruined my drain system

Customer avatarReviewed by:DeAnn
,new jersey
Date:August 7, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have had 2 tech's come out to find out what was wrong with my new GE dishwasher.It was not draining! both tech's asked me what detergent i was using? told them the cascade action pac's & i have tried all of cascades recommendations on using this item. the problem was that the(dis-solvable) plastic around each pac was melting & leaving a glue like substance inside my drain & tubing. you can use a tool & scrape out this material in the hose's.looks like caulking.Now i used cascade for this GE machine because they came with it & was recommended by GE when i purchased this dishwasher.NOW I HAVE A 300.00 DISHWASHER I HAD TO TRASH! PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE CUBE'S ! stay with the powder or liquid gel."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 10, 2011
I am sorry you had an issue with the Cascade ActionPacs. The Action Pac wrappers are actually made of a highly soluble material, just like translucent pill wrappers. We would like to get more details from you regarding this incident. Please call us with the package handy at
1-800-765-5516.
Review 212 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Problem

Customer avatarReviewed by:Clean Jean
,Kansas
Date:August 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"I would have written an email just to Cascade but did not see such a link on the website. I used to use your non perfumed pellets and can no longer find them in any store I have in my area. I do not need to have scented dishes, ie Fresh Citrus Breeze, Citrus Lemon, Apple Blossom, New Zealand Springs, and tropical Thai Dragon. In this day and age when some of us are trying to be more environmentally responsible and health conscious your company seems to be going in the wrong direction. Also a clue for all the spotty, filmy dishwasher people out there, I also have this same hard water problem but I use Lemi-Shine as a rinse agent and my dishes turn out great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 213 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of my time and money!

Customer avatarReviewed by:Mommyof3
,Tacoma WA
Date:August 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I only bought Cascade with Dawn because it was on sale for $3. Every other brand left my dishes clean, no spots, no residue. All were phosphate free. Cascade ruined my night. I put my daughters bottles in the dishwasher sparkling clean and they came out filmy with spots. Had to rewash everything! Wasted water, gas and electricity having to redo everything. I am never buying Cascade again!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 4, 2011
I am sorry you had a bad night. We would certainly like to help. Please call us at 1-800-765-5516 so we can get more details about your experience.
Review 214 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cascase Complete - Yellow/Green Packs

Customer avatarReviewed by:Myra
,Hillsboro, OR
Date:August 2, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Recently, I bought a large package of the Complete, in the Yellow/Green packs. I had been using the Blue/Green, which I thought were fabulous, and wanted to try this one. There is no way, they are even close to the Blue/Green, in cleaning. Sorry, I don't have the names of each, with me, so I am using colors to describe them. Supposedly, the Yellow ones should be zapping off, left on food. It doesn't. We usually rinse off all our dishes, prior to putting them in the dishwasher. To try out the left on food capability, I put in a few, that were not rinsed. After the load was finished, I checked them. There was still food on the dishes and it had not been dried on, when they went in the dishwasher. I will keep using the Blue/Green, because those really do work, but I will never buy the others again. It was a total waste of my money."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 4, 2011
I am sorry you did not have a good experience with one of the Cascade products. We stand behind our products 100% and would like to help you with this. Please give us a call at 1-800-765-5516 with the product handy.
Review 215 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

cascade with dawn lemon powder

Customer avatarReviewed by:culster
,PA
Date:July 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I used a 2.81 pound box of cascade with dawn lemon scent. The batch code is poorly stamped but it looks like 1094173111537. This is the worst dishwasher product I ever used. The box is now empty and the dishes are still dirty."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade TeamAugust 1, 2011
Yikes! You should have clean dishes. Please call us with the information above at : 1-800-765-5516. We're happy to help!
Review 216 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not very good.

Customer avatarReviewed by:charolette
,glasgow kentucky
Date:July 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have had trouble with the action-packs not opening.I am going to stick to using the liquid."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade TeamAugust 1, 2011
I'm sorry you've been having trouble with Cascade Actions Pacs. They are made to dissolve in the wash cycle. Here are a few tips that may help:

*Place the pacs in the cutlery basket instead of the dispenser cup.
**Water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at kitchen sink before starting the cycle.
*To prevent low water pressure, run dishwasher when no other water is being used (showers, grass watering, washing machine).

Give these a try and see if you get better results.
Review 217 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

Customer avatarReviewed by:tweet
,acworth, ga
Date:July 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"dont know if they changed something in the product or what. I clean all my dishes, silverware, pots, glasses, etc before placing in the dishwasher, this cascade doesn't work at all. I have to use 2 gel packs, dishes and glasses still have a film, which I have to re wash several dishes. My mistake was that I purchased the large 85 pacs instead of a small package. Needless to say dont waste your money on this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade TeamAugust 1, 2011
Terrible is not the goal we have for Cascade. The film you are reporting may be caused by the combination of hard water and the newly reformulated phosphate free Cascade. Starting in 2010 new state and local legislations require that all automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. So we removed phosphates to comply.

Here's how to remove film from your dishes:

1.Fill both detergent cups with white vinegar and run one wash cycle without adding detergent.
2.REMOVE ALL METAL ITEMS from the dishwasher first and wash them by hand. (Vinegar is too acidic for metal items, but is safe for stainless steel dishwasher interiors.) Then run the glasses/dishes through an entire cycle with no detergent.
3.Run through another cycle, using Cascade to remove any vinegar residue.

Tips to prevent this in the future:

*Add a rinse aid like Cascade Crystal Clear.
*Water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at kitchen sink before starting the cycle.
*To prevent low water pressure, run dishwasher when no other water is being used (showers, grass watering, washing machine)

These tips should help.
Review 218 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissolving Problems

Customer avatarReviewed by:CarolynAndMario
,Lafayette, LA
Date:July 19, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"We purchased the Cascade dishwasher pacs with Dawn. They're horrible. We tried 3 different pacs, none of them dissolved. I decided to cut one open with scissors and just use the powder portion in the dishwasher. Still found a chunk of detergent sitting in the main dispenser. I read another review of this product from July 12th, and Cascade's response was that the plastic wrap on the outside of the pacs was made of easily dissolving material, like that of a pill. Yeah right. We will no longer be purchasing any Cascade products. The dollar store brand did a better job."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareJuly 21, 2011
The pacs should be dissolving very easily for you. I am sorry that was not the case. We would like to get some information off of the package so we can get this reported for you. Please call us at your convenience at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 219 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:Anonymous
Date:July 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Since you no longer put phosphates in this product it has become a nightmare for me. I have thrown glasses away because there is a scum on them, I resorted to having our city test our water to make sure it is okay and now wash my dishes by hand. I will be trying one more Cascade Gel product and if that doesn't help I will no longer purchase any of your products. Patricia"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareJuly 20, 2011
I am sorry you having this issue with your glasses. While we did recently undergo a formulation change to comply with state and local legislations that require that all automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. The scum on the glasses can normally be removed.

Here's how to remove film from your dishes:

1.Fill both detergent cups with white vinegar and run one wash cycle without adding detergent.
2.REMOVE ALL METAL ITEMS from the dishwasher first and wash them by hand. (Vinegar is too acidic for metal items, but is safe for stainless steel dishwasher interiors.) Then run the glasses/dishes through an entire cycle with no detergent.
3.Run through another cycle, using Cascade to remove any vinegar residue.

If you have other questions or concerns please call us at the 800# listed on your package.
Review 220 for Cascade Cascade with Dawn - ActionPacs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarReviewed by:babe
,Sacramento ca
Date:July 13, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I would not recommend this product to any of my friends. After using it for sometime I observed that my glass ware seemed to have a residue that would not come off even with polishing with a dishtowel.
I switched back to the original formula Cascade Power and the residue is slowly clearing up.
I will continue to use Cascade Power.
Cascade with Dawn just will not due a good job in my opinion. I will no longer purchase it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 39 next>>