Customer reviews for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cascade.

Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder

Cascade Complete with Bleach Hydroclean Action Powder removes the food residue you can see - and even what you can't see. It thoroughly cleans plates, glassware and baking dishes and rinses cleanly away in the dishwasher.
Overall rating:
1.294 / 5
1.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
30
2 of 346%of customers recommend this.
Sort Reviews: Customer reviews for Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Review 21 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No food left, but Soap scum?

Customer avatarReviewed by:TAnn
,Greeley, CO
Date:February 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"This product did not work as well as I had hoped it would. I put it in my dishwasher, and no matter the amount I used, it left a white powder film on all of my dishes. I had to wash them again after the dishwasher just because of this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade TeamFebruary 18, 2011
I'm sorry you've been disappointed in Cascade lately. As you may know we did recently undergo a formulation change to comply with state and local legislations that require that all automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. However, we would still expect great cleaning from Cascade.

Here's how to remove film from your dishes:

1.Fill both detergent cups with white vinegar and run one wash cycle without adding detergent.
2.REMOVE ALL METAL ITEMS from the dishwasher first and wash them by hand. (Vinegar is too acidic for metal items, but is safe for stainless steel dishwasher interiors.) Then run the glasses/dishes through an entire cycle with no detergent.
3.Run through another cycle, using Cascade to remove any vinegar residue.

Tips to prevent this in the future:

*If you have hard water try Action Pacs or All in 1 Pacs.
*Water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at kitchen sink before starting the cycle.
*To prevent low water pressure, run dishwasher when no other water is being used (showers, grass watering, washing machine).

Hope you find this information helpful.
Review 22 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

White Residue

Customer avatarReviewed by:nicadair82
Date:February 27, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have been using Cascade for years and now I bought a box with this "new formula" and now there is a white residue on all of my dishes! And I have seen suggestions on how to remove the residue ect. with vinegar, but not to do that with metal dishes, the problem is, the metal ones are the worse. And now I'm guessing you have to always use vinegar when you use cascade? I will definitley be looking for another detergent to use! I just wasted my money on the box of cascade and I am not going to use it anymore and put a white film on every dish I own. This is horrible"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareMarch 2, 2011
I'm sorry you have a residue on your metal items after using Cascade. Our products are now phosphate-free, as required by new legislation across the whole industry. One benefit of Phosphates in dishwashing is its ability to help protect the surface of metals. With the removal of phosphates, discoloration on aluminum may now occur faster than before. It can be as fast as 1 wash when before it was over a longer period of time.

While it is difficult, it is possible to remove darkening. Try these steps:


1.Use a good aluminum (metal) polish on the pan.
2.Then boil a cream of tartar solution (2-3 tablespoons cream of tartar to1 quart water) in the pan for 15 minutes.
3.Finally, scrub with a soap pad.

It may also be helpful to know that discoloration does not affect the food being cooked. I still put my aluminum items in the dishwasher as I know my food will be fine. I hope this information helps. If we can help you farther please call us at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 23 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible "improved" product

Customer avatarReviewed by:Katy
,Oklaoma
Date:March 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"The new phosphate free formula leaves a film on EVERYTHING. Only a few states have imposed the phosphate-free requirement, so why should all consumers be penalized? Excellent article by Jonathan V. Last in the January 31, 2011 edition of the Weekly Standard - it is the most comprehensive one I've come across."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer CareMarch 3, 2011
I'm sorry you're having trouble with filming on your dishes and I'm sharing your comments with our Cascade Team. Cascade recently changed its formulas to comply with laws requiring dishwashing detergents to be phosphate free. Due to the formulation change there is a potential for some filming or spotting in harder water with the powder formula. I’d like to recommend trying the Cascade Action Pacs next time you shop!
Review 24 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

false advertising!

Customer avatarReviewed by:bunnygirl
,Illinois
Date:March 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"After seeing the commercial with the woman who forgot to run her dishwasher with the messy baking dish inside, I decided to try Cascade Complete powder.
I had a baking dish, not nearly as messy as the one shown on the TV ad. I had even soaked the dish overnight before starting the dishwasher the next morning. I was very, very disappointed when I saw what my dishes looked like when the dishwasher finished. The baking dish was still covered with food debris, not spotlessly clean as advertised. My glassware and plastic items look white and filmy. I am not at all impressed with this product and would never purchase it again.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade Consumer CareMarch 21, 2011
I'm surprised by your report. We'd like to help. Please call us with your package handy at: 1-800-765-5516.
Review 25 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worse then last years poor performance

Customer avatarReviewed by:ChrisShoem
,Burbank (L.A.) CA
Date:March 28, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Cascade Complete Power with Bleach leaves a white haze on nearly everything. I have to hand wash the entire load now. Many items will not come clean. Plastics have been destroyed. I have already used vinegar to little or no help. You will notice in the other reviews, cascade has no solution for the damage to plastics. Last year, I called in to Customer Service regarding the poor performance of Cascade with Shine Shield leaving thick white residues. Got the whole story then about Phosphate and the new rules. It was recommended then to get as much of the old formula that still had phosphate. I was able to find several boxes. Now I am out, and used the product that was recommended at the time, which was this product w/bleach. It is time to stand up to the government. How much more energy and resources am I going to waste to clean/replace my dishes/cookware damaged by this product."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

inferior product

Customer avatarReviewed by:lou
,Columbus, Ohio
Date:April 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Cascade is now an inferior product from what they used to be or what they advertise. The only problem is that all dishwasher products are in the same boat. I have tried every product out there and they all leave that chalky white film over everything! I just expected more from Cascade because it is a product I trust. It is unfortunate that before you pulled the phosphates out you did not try to replace it with something else that did the job! I also feel that I was not informed of the change. I paid for a repair man to come to the house to fix my dishwasher! He was the one that told me about the new product. I am very disappointed!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sooo Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:Sunluvr
,So. CA
Date:April 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have used Cascade for years and although from time to time I tried other products nothing compared. However, recently I purchased Cascade Advanced Power powder at my local Costco - according to box this is the same as Cascade COMPLETE with bleach - . It is awful!!!! It won't remove lipstick on glasses or spoons. It leaves a chalky film on all except the shiniest glass. Apparently, noone bothered to test this product before putting it on the market."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer CareApril 5, 2011
I'm sorry you're having trouble with cleaning and filming on your dishes and I'm sharing your comments with our Cascade Team. Cascade recently changed its formulas to comply with laws requiring dishwashing detergents to be phosphate free. Due to the formulation change there is a potential for some filming or spotting in harder water with the powder formula. I’d like to recommend trying the Cascade Action Pacs next time you shop!
Review 28 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

Customer avatarReviewed by:TD
,Colorado
Date:April 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I used to buy Cascade but will not buy this product again. It no longer works since removing phosphates & it turned all of my aluminum cookie sheets black! What a dissapointment. I thought Proctor & Gamble would do more testing before releasing a product that doesn't work and will damage aluminum!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareMay 5, 2011
I'm sorry you have a residue on your metal items after using Cascade. Our products are now phosphate-free, as required by new legislation across the whole industry. One benefit of Phosphates in dishwashing is its ability to help protect the surface of metals. With the removal of phosphates, discoloration on aluminum may now occur faster than before. It can be as fast as 1 wash when before it was over a longer period of time.

While it is difficult, it is possible to remove darkening. Try these steps:


1.Use a good aluminum (metal) polish on the pan.
2.Then boil a cream of tartar solution (2-3 tablespoons cream of tartar to1 quart water) in the pan for 15 minutes.
3.Finally, scrub with a soap pad.

It may also be helpful to know that discoloration does not affect the food being cooked. I still put my aluminum items in the dishwasher as I know my food will be fine. I hope this information helps. If we can help you farther please call us at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 29 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy It!

Customer avatarReviewed by:JJ
,Texas
Date:April 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"You will have white, hard to remove film on all your dishes due to the new phosphate free formula."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always bought Cascade

Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul D 3
,Scranton, Pa.
Date:June 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"My neighbors will ask if we can through some of there items in with our dishes & everything else because they come so white & Clean. I get tired of "New & Imporved ad's". What was wrong with what has been sold for years suddenly is no more? I'f it ain't broke don't fix it. WIll always use Cascade powder as long as it's on the store shelf."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:Deb55
,San Antonio, TX
Date:July 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I've been a Cascade user all my life. I'm so disappointed with the performance of the new product formula. It reminds me of the quality you get from a dollar store product. I hope the reformulation efforts will correct the filming problem. I had to rewash most of the dishes by hand to make them presentable for my family's use. I returned the product to the store and I'm hoping the next time I buy Cascade I won't have the same experience."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareJuly 21, 2011
It is nice to hear from our loyal consumers. I am sorry you have had some filming issues. We recommend taking the following steps to prevent filming -

1. Ensure that you are filling both detergent cups full for each load.
2. Use a rinse aid, such as Cascade Rinse Aid, which helps to rinse away food particles and residues that can cause spots on dishes.
3. Dishwasher water temperature should be at least 120 degrees F. Run hot water at the kitchen sink before starting the load to help reach this temperature.
4. To help prevent low water pressure, make sure that no other water is being used in the house (showers, grass watering, washing machine).
5. Make sure the dishwasher is loaded properly so that no items block the sprayer arms and prevent adequate water from reaching all of the dishes.

Please call us if you have additional questions.
Review 32 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:CoxFam5
,Sammamish, WA
Date:July 21, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I agree with the other users. This product is very disappointing. I have been a faithful Cascade user but the new formula is horrible. I know part of it is due to taking soap phosphate out of the ingredients. I use a rinse agent and my glasses come out looking like they were never cleaned. I have to find a dishwashing soap that has phosphate in the formula."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No excellent shine

Customer avatarReviewed by:Towerfam
Date:August 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"All of our dishes are left with residue and we sometimes even wash the dishes twice so they look even somewhat clean. Would not recommend."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareAugust 10, 2011
We want your shine to be excellent! We would like to check some details with you about your product. Please give us a call at your convenience at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 34 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another way to use the powder

Customer avatarReviewed by:keepthemclean
Date:August 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"Use in washing machine to whiten socks. My dishwasher does not work so I found another use for it."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2