Customer reviews for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cascade.

Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder

Cascade Complete with Bleach Hydroclean Action Powder removes the food residue you can see - and even what you can't see. It thoroughly cleans plates, glassware and baking dishes and rinses cleanly away in the dishwasher.
Overall rating:
1.294 / 5
1.3
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
30
2 of 346%of customers recommend this.
Sort Reviews: Customer reviews for Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Review 1 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

inferior product

Customer avatarReviewed by:lou
,Columbus, Ohio
Date:April 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Cascade is now an inferior product from what they used to be or what they advertise. The only problem is that all dishwasher products are in the same boat. I have tried every product out there and they all leave that chalky white film over everything! I just expected more from Cascade because it is a product I trust. It is unfortunate that before you pulled the phosphates out you did not try to replace it with something else that did the job! I also feel that I was not informed of the change. I paid for a repair man to come to the house to fix my dishwasher! He was the one that told me about the new product. I am very disappointed!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't try it

Customer avatarReviewed by:bevo
,temple, tx
Date:June 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"it left a residue on my dishes. I had to soak them in vineager to get it off."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sooo Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:Sunluvr
,So. CA
Date:April 4, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have used Cascade for years and although from time to time I tried other products nothing compared. However, recently I purchased Cascade Advanced Power powder at my local Costco - according to box this is the same as Cascade COMPLETE with bleach - . It is awful!!!! It won't remove lipstick on glasses or spoons. It leaves a chalky film on all except the shiniest glass. Apparently, noone bothered to test this product before putting it on the market."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer CareApril 5, 2011
I'm sorry you're having trouble with cleaning and filming on your dishes and I'm sharing your comments with our Cascade Team. Cascade recently changed its formulas to comply with laws requiring dishwashing detergents to be phosphate free. Due to the formulation change there is a potential for some filming or spotting in harder water with the powder formula. I’d like to recommend trying the Cascade Action Pacs next time you shop!
Review 4 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Buy It!

Customer avatarReviewed by:JJ
,Texas
Date:April 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"You will have white, hard to remove film on all your dishes due to the new phosphate free formula."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible "improved" product

Customer avatarReviewed by:Katy
,Oklaoma
Date:March 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"The new phosphate free formula leaves a film on EVERYTHING. Only a few states have imposed the phosphate-free requirement, so why should all consumers be penalized? Excellent article by Jonathan V. Last in the January 31, 2011 edition of the Weekly Standard - it is the most comprehensive one I've come across."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy DeeConsumer CareMarch 3, 2011
I'm sorry you're having trouble with filming on your dishes and I'm sharing your comments with our Cascade Team. Cascade recently changed its formulas to comply with laws requiring dishwashing detergents to be phosphate free. Due to the formulation change there is a potential for some filming or spotting in harder water with the powder formula. I’d like to recommend trying the Cascade Action Pacs next time you shop!
Review 6 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

Customer avatarReviewed by:UnhappyNan
,Peach Bottom, PA
Date:October 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have been a faithful Cascade user for over 30 years! The product I am using now is unbelievably awful. My dishes are not getting clean, a white film is all over the silverware and glasses. I have never had such trouble in all my years of doing dishes....and as a mother of 5, grandmother of 10 I do/did a LOT of dishes!!! Whatever you have done to your product is AWFUL!!! Nothing has changed in how I do dishes, except the product being Cascade, who has changed the composition of the product. Unhappily, I am on the search for something that is going to get my dishes clean now!!!
Again, very disappointed!!!!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

false advertising!

Customer avatarReviewed by:bunnygirl
,Illinois
Date:March 18, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"After seeing the commercial with the woman who forgot to run her dishwasher with the messy baking dish inside, I decided to try Cascade Complete powder.
I had a baking dish, not nearly as messy as the one shown on the TV ad. I had even soaked the dish overnight before starting the dishwasher the next morning. I was very, very disappointed when I saw what my dishes looked like when the dishwasher finished. The baking dish was still covered with food debris, not spotlessly clean as advertised. My glassware and plastic items look white and filmy. I am not at all impressed with this product and would never purchase it again.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy MonikaCascade Consumer CareMarch 21, 2011
I'm surprised by your report. We'd like to help. Please call us with your package handy at: 1-800-765-5516.
Review 8 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware...

Customer avatarReviewed by:BDow
,San Diego, CA
Date:August 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have also experienced the horrible white film and poor performance associated with all of the new phosphate free formulations. The old Cascade formulations were wonderful...not so much after they went phosphate free. I know it is not the machine (less than nine months old, performance change coincided with a change in detergent) or the water (incoming around 130F, run at tap until hot). The rinse aid dispenser is also full. It is definitely the phosphate free formulation with our hard water...one use of the old product and everything was flawless again.
I have started adding 1/2 tbsp STPP (sodium tri poly phosphate) to both the main and prewash cups along with the phosphate free detergent. One cycle with STPP and everything was back to normal. STPP is the phosphate that used to be in detergents and is available at chemical supply houses.
There also used to be a product called "Glass Magic" that contained STPP and water softeners that is used along with detergent to do the same thing. However, I have not seen it in stores recently and wonder if it is not being produced anymore because of the phosphate ban.
In some areas of the country, you also may still be able to find the old (good) Cascade Complete with phosphates at Big-Lots or other grocery clearance center. People in our area have been stocking up before it is totally gone."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Truly AWFUL product.

Customer avatarReviewed by:BenFromCA
,San Jose, CA
Date:June 22, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"On the side of my box of Cascade All-In-1 Advanced right underneath the "Good Housekeeping Seal" it say:
Also sold as Cascade Complete with Bleach Hydroclean Action Powder.
In other words the same product. Why am I bothering to let you know? Because if you look at the reviews for "Cascade Complete all in one POWDER. you will see that all reviewer universally gave it 1 out of 5 stars.
It is hands down the WORST product EVER. Save your money.
This review is for the POWDER. I have never used the liquid."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy

Customer avatarReviewed by:cowgirl
,OKC
Date:June 14, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Have used Cascade as the primary dishwashing detergent for a number of years and then switched to Cascade Complete and it keeps leaving a film on all of the clean dishes! I kept thinking that the dishes were still dirty, but I realized it was just the film left behind. I feel like I need to rewash the dishes everytime. The dishes don't even feel clean. NOT happy with this detergent. DO NOT buy this product!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Product

Customer avatarReviewed by:Manny
,Los Angeles, CA
Date:June 12, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Cascade Complete (aka Cascade Advanced Power) has really taken a turn for the worse. Your dishes will be covered with white film and food particles. The metel in your pots and pans will have a bad chemical reaction and discolor. Avoid this product!
Cascade Complete used to be our favorite dishwashing detergent -it was the best out there. It now seems to have been reformulated. I suspect they did this to make it "eco-friendly" by removing the phosphates (I don't think it used to say 'phosphate free' on the box). Believe me: if you buy into all this "eco-friendly, green" nonesense; There is nothing "eco-friendly" about having to reclean your dishes with two or three times the amount of water to wash away the film and residue left by this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dull Dishes With Residue

Customer avatarReviewed by:Paba
Date:June 9, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Purchased Cascade Complete with Bleach...not sure what happened but the dishes were so dull and completely covered with residue.I believe we have used this before and had beautiful glasses and dishes but this purchase seemed like it was a completely different brand. I put it in the pre-wash (even though not supposed to) thinking that it would help but it was worse....I would not recommend this at all! Completely waste of money!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always bought Cascade

Customer avatarReviewed by:Paul D 3
,Scranton, Pa.
Date:June 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
"My neighbors will ask if we can through some of there items in with our dishes & everything else because they come so white & Clean. I get tired of "New & Imporved ad's". What was wrong with what has been sold for years suddenly is no more? I'f it ain't broke don't fix it. WIll always use Cascade powder as long as it's on the store shelf."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT

Customer avatarReviewed by:TD
,Colorado
Date:April 30, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I used to buy Cascade but will not buy this product again. It no longer works since removing phosphates & it turned all of my aluminum cookie sheets black! What a dissapointment. I thought Proctor & Gamble would do more testing before releasing a product that doesn't work and will damage aluminum!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareMay 5, 2011
I'm sorry you have a residue on your metal items after using Cascade. Our products are now phosphate-free, as required by new legislation across the whole industry. One benefit of Phosphates in dishwashing is its ability to help protect the surface of metals. With the removal of phosphates, discoloration on aluminum may now occur faster than before. It can be as fast as 1 wash when before it was over a longer period of time.

While it is difficult, it is possible to remove darkening. Try these steps:


1.Use a good aluminum (metal) polish on the pan.
2.Then boil a cream of tartar solution (2-3 tablespoons cream of tartar to1 quart water) in the pan for 15 minutes.
3.Finally, scrub with a soap pad.

It may also be helpful to know that discoloration does not affect the food being cooked. I still put my aluminum items in the dishwasher as I know my food will be fine. I hope this information helps. If we can help you farther please call us at 1-800-765-5516.
Review 15 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware the film!

Customer avatarReviewed by:mkb1
,Houston TX
Date:January 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
"After standing by Cascade for over 30 years this one box of detergent is enough to make me swear I will never buy Cascade again! I am referring to the new Cascade Complete with bleach. The filming is so bad that I have had to buy all new plastic utensils and replace plastic glasses. I recently splurged and bought new Caphelon pans and utensils to go with them so between the box of detergent and my ruined accessories i am looking at a LOSS of about $35.00 for cleaning my dishes! What ever you do.... leave this stuff on the shelf unless you can live with the film!!!! It by far is the worst Cascade product I have ever tried when it comes to this problem. It does indeed get dishes clean but on a white plate beside a glass you know what is still on the plate...film!
Now.... does anyone know how to remove the film???"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareJanuary 25, 2011
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience while using Cascade. Our products did recently undergo a formulation change to comply with state and local legislations that require that "all" automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. Our Cascade products are formulated to deliver the excellent performance that you have come to expect. There are some steps to help prevent the issues you've had recently. Make sure you fill both detergent cups as directed or use a Cascade Action Pac for very hard water areas. Water should be at least 120 degrees, turn water on at faucet until hot before starting dishwasher. Keep water pressure high by not using dishwasher while shower, washer or other water sources are used at the same time. Finally try using a rinse aid like Cascade Crystal Clear. I hope you find this information helpful. If you have other questions, please call us at 1-800-765-5516
Review 16 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Residue on dishes

Customer avatarReviewed by:sevati
,Shepherdsville, KY
Date:November 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have used nothing else but this product. The last box I purchased has left my dishes a disaster. I went online and read to use as directed, which I have. I always turn on my hot water before running my dishwasher and my dishwasher has a hot water setting which I use. I have rinsed my dishwasher with white vinegar and went as far as rinsing my dishes with white vinegar to get rid of the white residue. My dishwasher manual says to use vinegar when needed to keep dishwasher running as it should. I use the amount the manual indicates. I have a high performance dishwasher. I do not own junk. My dishes and dishwasher keep the residue no matter what I do. I have not done anything wrong. I need a product that works. I no longer have my receipt for my detergent, but do have the box. Please send me a coupon to cover my expense for a product you have that you can promise when used as directed will not build up on my dishes. Thank you!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareNovember 29, 2010
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience while using Cascade. Our products did recently undergo a formulation change to comply with state and local legislations that require that "all" automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. Our Cascade products are formulated to deliver the excellent performance that you have come to expect. We would like to get more information about your experience. Please give us a call toll free at: 1-800-765-5516 and have your box handy.
Review 17 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it

Customer avatarReviewed by:subee
,California
Date:November 7, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I've used Cascade Complete for years and l loved it but now I can only find Cascade Advanced Power, which according to the box replaces Cascade Complete. It leaves a horrible white residue on my my dishes and my coffee cups are now stained. I've run vinegar through the dishwasher and started using Lemi-shine, thinking it might be hard water, but it doesn't help. Please bring Cascade Complete back."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy JennyCascade Consumer CareNovember 9, 2010
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience while using Cascade. Let me assure you we are still making the Cascade Complete Powder. It is available in Cascade Complete All-in-One Powder or Cascade Complete with Bleach. Our products did recently undergo a formulation change to comply with state and local legislations that require that "all" automatic dishwasher detergents contain no phosphate. Our Cascade products are formulated to deliver the excellent performance that you have come to expect. There are some steps to help prevent the issues you've had recently. Make sure you fill both detergent cups as directed or use a Cascade Action Pac for very hard water areas. Water should be at least 120 degrees, turn water on at faucet until hot before starting dishwasher. Finally try using a rinse aid like Cascade Crystal Clear. I hope you find this information helpful.
Review 18 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cascade with Bleach

Customer avatarReviewed by:hobobill
,Kansas
Date:October 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Horrible! We had the same problem after using Cascade for a year. The build-up on our dishes became intolerable. We had tried vinegar, borax and laundry soda. Nothing helped. We called Maytag, who sent a repairman because we were thinking the rinse cycle wasn't working properly. The first thing he said when he saw the glasses was "too much detergent" and he recommended the Cascade Pacs. Those worked!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Response from CascadeBy RoseConsumer Care TeamOctober 6, 2010
I'm sorry you had issues with your dishwasher while using Cascade. I'm so happy that the Cascade Action Pacs are working so well. Thanks for sharing!
Review 19 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless Product

Customer avatarReviewed by:Fermion
,Burbank,CA
Date:October 4, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I've been using Cascade product with excellent results for 40 years. The new phosphate free formula is awful. It leaves a white film on everything. I use a rinse agent. I use hot water and use the heated water setting. I fill both sides of the detergent dispenser. Nothing helps."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cascade Cascade Complete® with Bleach Hydroclean™ Action Powder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible product

Customer avatarReviewed by:saff67
,Pennsylvania
Date:August 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
"I have been using Cascade Complete powder for many years with no issue. We do have hard water and make the necessary adjustments to the amount of detergent used, water temp, etc. Cascade Complete has given me the best result up until now. Since Cascade made the change to phosphate-free detergent, I have had the same chalky white residue as many of the other reviewers. I will no longer purchase this product and will find something else to use until there is a better option for my dishwasher. I cannot justify the cost when I have the same terrible results with the less expensive detergents. Very dissatisfied."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>